2 more weeks: Neshoba County burn ban now runs through Nov. 16

PHILADELPHIA, Miss. (Queen City Newsfeed) – The Neshoba County burn ban will last two more weeks. It now runs through Monday, Nov. 16, the Neshoba County Sheriff’s Department said.

The department shared the update on its mobile app Monday morning. So all outdoor burning is still not allowed in the county.

Why the ban started

Supervisors approved the ban on Oct. 19. At the time, it was set to last until their Nov. 2 meeting. Then they planned to look at it again.

Josh Burt is the county’s emergency management director. He told supervisors that dry weather, wind and low humidity had raised the risk of fires. He also said there were 26 fire calls in one week.

What happens if you burn

Deputies will keep going to burn ban calls with local fire departments, the sheriff’s department said. People who break the ban may get a citation. A citation is a ticket. In extreme cases, people may also face arrest.

As of last week, deputies had written seven citations during the ban, the Neshoba Democrat reported. In addition, one man was arrested and charged with trespassing and a burn ban violation. A charge does not mean a person is guilty.

Breaking a burn ban on purpose is a misdemeanor. That is a minor crime. The fine can be $100 to $500, the Mississippi Forestry Commission says.

What you cannot burn

The state says a burn ban covers anything with an open flame that makes embers. Wind can carry embers up to half a mile. Then they can start a new fire.

So these are not allowed:

  • Campfires
  • Bonfires
  • Fire pits and fire rings
  • Burn barrels
  • Burning trash or brush
  • Field burning

What you can still use

However, you can still cook outside. Gas grills, gas heaters and charcoal grills are allowed. Keep them away from things that can burn. Also, never leave them alone.

Charcoal needs extra care. Let the coals cool all the way. Then soak them with water and put them in a metal can.

When the ban ends

State burn bans end at midnight on the last day listed. That means Neshoba County’s ban ends when Nov. 16 is over, unless it changes.

Other counties are also under bans. For example, Kemper County’s ban was also set to run through Nov. 16. Because dates can change, check the state burn ban page before you burn.

If you see a wildfire, call 911 right away. You can also call the Mississippi Forestry Commission at (601) 359-1386.

For more, read our story on a trash fire that burned to the edge of a Neshoba County home.

The sheriff’s department also thanked residents and fire crews. “We appreciate the continued cooperation of our citizens and thank our volunteer firefighters for their dedication and service to our community,” the department said. “Please do your part to help keep Neshoba County safe.”

share it

Latest News